Paul's Blog

THOUGHTS ON CYBER WARFARE

The Silent Tiger

Amy_Katru_CSFI

Amy Katru, the Chief Communications Officer for CSFI, presented at the Marcus Evans conference last week regarding The Silent Tiger project she has been working on for the past year along with her project members. The Silent Tiger is a project and a report that highlight the challenges and capabilities of India’s emerging cyber security. The first presentation regarding the project, Amy highlighted key points why America should pay attention to India’s progress and their effort in the cyber security domain.

India’s Chain of Command in terms of their cyber security posture, their main cyber agencies and plans for a cyber-command were discussed. The presentation also covered the Law and Policy of India. Amy discussed the Information Technology Act 2000 and the Information Technology Amendment Act 2008 along with the recent release of India’s National Cyber Security Policy. India’s Cyber Crime was also discussed since India is the leading country in Spam and Bot Infections. Amy highlighted the fact that the Cyber Crime of India is a reflection of the lack of education and awareness in India in the cyber security.

Her main concern was: Why should America care?

Her three arguments were: America’s National Security, Business Globalization and Situational Awareness.

With India’s efforts in improving their cyber security and their recent collaborations with countries like UK, Egypt and Israel, it is imperative for the American’s to be aware and prepared regarding the progress of India’s cyber security efforts.

 

Chief Communications Officer for CSFI - India Cyber Security SME

Chief Communications Officer for CSFI – India Cyber Security SME

Filed under: Uncategorized

Career Thoughts

I am humbled and honored to have the opportunity to manage and run one of the biggest and most active forums on the Internet dealing with cyber warfare and cyber security – CSFI (The Cyber Security Forum Initiative). With over 16 years of cyber security experience, I continue to actively raise Cyber Warfare/Cyber Security awareness worldwide. I have worked as a Chief Security Engineer for AT&T, where I designed and approved secure networks for MSS. I have also consulted for several governments, military and private institutions on best network security practices throughout my career.

CSFI and its divisions CSFI-CWD (Cyber Warfare Division), CSFI-LPD (Law and Policy Division) and CSFI-WD (Wireless Division) continue to grow and expand with more than 60,000 information security members.

One of my personal goals is to serve our security community to the best of my abilities, in the protection and defense of our American national security interests, the American people, and that of our international partners. I am always ready to serve and to give of my time and skills to help our society with the growing problems we experience in cyberspace. I thank God and my family for the opportunities I have had in life and the most precious of all opportunities, which is the chance to serve others. I love what I do, and I appreciate all the support I have received from friends, family and our CSFI members.

___________________________________________

Paul de Souza, CSFI Founder Director

